For the Living: Selected Writings 1: Longer Poems 1965-2000

This revised first volume of Selected Writings by Richard Burns consists of longer poems written between 1965 and 2000, in Greece, Italy, England and Yugoslavia. While some poems, like ‘Avebury’ and ‘Croft Woods’, have their focal points in a recognisably English landscape and consciousness, there is no insular limitation on the matter. Burns has written: “I would rather think of myself as a European poet who writes in English than as an ‘English’ poet.”

The range and breadth of this ambitious collection confirm Burns’ place in the European late modernist mainstream. The predominant concerns are love, vision and justice. Oppression is confronted and defeated. Eros is celebrated. The voice of the Other is ever-present. Personal relations and integrities are affirmed. The keynote is magnanimity.

The selection opens with ‘The Easter Rising 1967’, a poem against dictatorship, written during the military takeover in Greece. Involvement with Greece resurfaces in ‘Black Light’, a sequence dedicated to the memory of George Seferis. Also featured are poems set in former Yugoslavia, including ‘The Voice in the Garden’ dedicated to Burns’s friend Ivan V. Lalić. Other poems are rooted in family and filial relations ( ‘May’), in Cabbalistic Judaism (‘The Rose of Sharon’, ‘Tree’), in Breton and Welsh tradition (‘Ys’), in art (‘Transformations’, ‘Against the Day’), and in post-Holocaust consciousness and ecology (‘Angels’).

For the Living includes the award-winning poems ‘The Rose of Sharon’ (Keats Memorial Prize) and ‘In Memory of George Seferis I’ (Duncan Lawrie Prize), as well as a range of previously unpublished pieces. Notes provide dedications, dates and places of composition.

For the Living is the first volume in his Selected Writings ‘The Rose of Sharon’ won the Keats Memorial Poetry Prize and ‘In memory of George Seferis (1)’ received the Duncan Lawrie Prize.

Richard Berengarten used to be known as RICHARD BURNS. With the publication of this book, he now repossesses the family name of his father, the cellist and saxophonist Alexander Berengarten.

Nøkkelord: Poesi

    Richard Berengarten: For the Living: Selected Writings 1: Longer Poems 1965-2000
  • Forlag: Salt Publishing
  • Utgivelsesår: 2008
  • Merknad: Richard Berengarten was born in London into a family of musicians. He has lived in Italy, Greece, Serbia, Croatia and the USA. He now lives in Cambridge, where he is a Bye-Fellow at Downing College. A former Fellow of the Royal Literary Fund, he has published more than 25 books
  • Kategori: Poesi
  • Lagerstatus:
    Ikke på lager
  • Antall sider: 240
  • ISBN: 9781844714568
  • Innbinding: Innbundet