Under Balkan Light: Selected Writings 5: Part 3, The Balkan Trilogy

Set in the crumbling ruins of Yugoslavia, this book presents a vision of the Balkans that flinches from neither brutality nor beauty but honours truth, dignity and hope. The book starts with a tour-de-force, the long poem ‘Do vidjenje Danitsé’, and continues with a series of memorial tablets for victims of Jasenovac concentration camp. The book includes a sequence in memory of the Serbian, Yugoslav and Mediterranean poet, Ivan V. Lalić.

Under Balkan Light forms the final part of his Balkan Trilogy and is published together with the first two parts, The Blue Butterfly and In a Time of Drought. It is also the fifth volume in the Salt series of his Selected Writings.

Richard Berengarten used to be known as RICHARD BURNS. With the publication of this book, he now repossesses the family name of his father, the cellist and saxophonist Alexander Berengarten.

    Richard Berengarten: Under Balkan Light: Selected Writings 5: Part 3, The Balkan Trilogy
  • Forlag: Salt Publishing
  • Utgivelsesår: 2008
  • Merknad: Richard Berengarten was born in London into a family of musicians. He has lived in Italy, Greece, Serbia, Croatia and the USA. He now lives in Cambridge, where he is a Bye-Fellow at Downing College. A former Fellow of the Royal Literary Fund, he has published more than 25 books
  • Kategori: Poesi
  • Lagerstatus:
    Ikke på lager
  • Antall sider: 176
  • ISBN: 9781844714391
  • Innbinding: Innbundet